CAW Members Named to NDP Shadow Cabinet

May 27, 2011, 10:30 AM EST

SocialTwist Tell-a-Friend

CAW members have been asked to play a number of key roles in the NDP's shadow cabinet on Parliament Hill.

Peggy Nash, former assistant to the CAW president, has been named to the high profile post of  finance critic by NDP leader Jack Layton. Nash was re-elected MP for Parkdale High-Park in Toronto, defeating Liberal Gerard Kennedy in the May 2 federal election. She had earlier held the seat from 2006 to 2008.

In addition, CAW member Malcolm Allen, who held his seat in Welland, Ontario has been named the NDP's agriculture critic.

Joe Comartin, an honourary member of CAW Local 444, retained his seat in Windsor-Tecumseh, and is justice critic.

The riding of Sackville Eastern Shore in Nova Scotia re-elected CAW member Peter Stoffer, who is Veteran's Affairs critic for the NDP.

In Quebec, Claude Patry, a CAW retiree and previous president of Local 1937, which represents workers at Rio Tinto Alcan, in the Saguenay region, will serve as EI critic.

Print Print  Send to a friend Send to a friend  Feedback Feedback